Someone posted http://bestpicever.com for sale… and it wasn’t even their site! Initially up for auction on SitePoint by the true owner, (and with a current bid of $6,000) they received a number of curious emails referring to a second listing elsewhere. A little investigating showed the site was indeed listed on digitalpoint; a scam that included a word for word copy of the original sales listing but at 1/10th the price!
Read more on Freelancelancetwins.
Faux listing: http://forums.digitalpoint.com/showthread.php?p=8768604
Real listing: http://marketplace.sitepoint.com/auctions/42428
Popularity: 38% [?]

BrilliantJeni












{ 3 comments… read them below or add one }
Wow…this is crazy! I guess no one is safe with anything these days! People will always find a way to scam someone.
Hey there! I saw you on ImWithJoe.com and I’m trying to discover new blogs so I thought i’d check yours out today. I read about this somewhere else and I think I would really dislike if that happened to me. Although, lots of my content is stolen and reposted elsewhere on a daily basis. I get a trackback that I have to later investigate!
Hey Jeni,
This exact situation happened to me. I had a SitePoiint auction running, and some idiot posted the exact auction word for word for sale on Digital Point. I came across the post because I was looking to buy more in that niche. lol
I called him out on the thread, and then posted on other threads of his to let the poeple know. I also reported it to Digital Point, but nothing came out of that, so that same guy is probably running around trying to do that scam.
At the very least, DP could have looked into it/replied to me. But, oh well, they don’t consider it their place to get in the middle of those types of scenarios. It was extremely easy to verify that I owend the site, so I thought it’ be appropriate for them to check it out and ban the guy so he doesn’t scam a buyer out of their money.
Anyway, I’m a new reader, caught your link from Joe. I’ll be back.
Cheers!
Jay